Assessment of an adult’s needs for care and support

Assessment of an adult’s needs for care and support

Eligibility Criteria (previously known as FACS)

Are you eligible for a service?

This page explains how your eligibility is decided and what happens after that.

Government requirements mean that since April 2003, clients who ask for support from Adult Care, Health and Well-being have been assessed using a framework called Eligibility Criteria, previously known as FACS. This applies both to new clients, and to existing clients when they are reassessed. Services for children are not affected by the Eligibility Criteria.

The Eligibility Criteria identifies the risks which threaten a person’s ability to manage in the community. There are four bands, described as “Risks to Independence”:

  • Critical
  • Substantial
  • Moderate
  • Low

These are determined through an interview with you in your home.

Adult Care services, Health and Well-being will undertake an assessment based on your presenting needs at the referral stage of the assessment. The assessment will identify if you have any needs that your local council can provide services for. The assessing worker will identify the level of need using the eligibility criteria guidance. If needs are identified, the department will provide or commission services for people assessed in the critical and substantial bands of risk, but not for those in the moderate and low bands.

Not everyone will have needs in every area of the assessment, some people may have needs which could be eligible for services but are met in another way, for example, carers. These are called ‘met’ needs. If the assessment concludes that you are not eligible for services, Adult Care, Health and Well-being will endeavor to signpost you to other services.

The Eligibility Criteria is determined by Your Council and may change – and will be updated on this website.

How the level of risks to independence is determined

You and your assessor would establish which of these difficulties you faced and look at them in detail:

  • Autonomy and freedom to make choices 
    For example, how far are you able to exert choice and control over your immediate environment?
  • Health and safety including freedom from harm, abuse and neglect, and taking wider issues of housing and community safety into account
    For example, are you in a life-threatening situation, or are you at risk of serious abuse, neglect, health or housing difficulties?
  • The ability to manage personal and other daily routines
    For example, how far are you able to carry out personal care and domestic routines?
  • Involvement in family and wider community life, including leisure, hobbies, paid and unpaid work, learning and volunteering
    For example, are you able to work or take up education, or are you isolated from places or people that are important to you?
  • Your carer’s circumstances                                                                                                     
  • For example, how far is your carer affected physically or mentally by his/her caring role?

Although each of these is assigned a risk banding, it is the highest of them which would determine your level. A more critical banding should reflect the presence of a greater variety or intensity of risk and need.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *